Skip to product information
1 of 2


Tango Masters: Juan D'Arienzo

Regular price €27,00 EUR
Regular price €31,00 EUR Sale price €27,00 EUR
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Lavocah, Michael

Binding: Paperback

Number Of Pages: 312

Release Date: 25-05-2019

Details: In 1937, Juan D’Arienzo propelled an entire city to its feet with his irresistible beat, converting a generation of tango listeners into tango dancers. In so doing, he created the foundation for tango’s most glorious years, the golden decade of the 1940s. The public loved his simple but modern style, buying his records in the millions, but the intelligentsia was scandalized, condemning his music as a return to the past. Despite performing until shortly before his death in 1976, D’Arienzo was written out of tango history. This is the first book about D’Arienzo in any language. Tango Masters: Juan D’Arienzo takes the reader on a journey through D’Arienzo’s music and the successive transformations of his orchestra. Listening guides to over one hundred of his most important recordings help the reader to appreciate, love, and dance to this enduringly popular music. Michael Lavocah is the author of Tango Stories: Musical Secrets, the guide to tango dance music. This is the fourth volume of the series Tango Masters, which explores the music of the great orchestras of tango’s Golden Age in depth.

EAN: 9781999755126

Package Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches

Languages: English, Ainu